2016 To-Read List

As well as all the new 2016 releases that I have highlighted in Top Ten Tuesday posts and in the Waiting on Wednesday tag there are quite a few established series which I have been meaning to start for a while now. Most of them I meant to get through in 2015 but since that never happened I’m going to try and get through them all before June is over.

There are some series on my to-read list, which have also been there for a while now, that I haven’t highlights; Bloodlines by Richelle Mead, Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi, Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan. Instead the books below are either series that have been on my to-read list for a long time now, have been recommended to me over and over again, or are just books that I am excited to get started on.

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Throne of Glass

I have had this series on my to-read list since before the first book was even released. I have read some bad reviews for the first book, and the general consensus is that it isn’t the best of the series which is probably what’s been putting me off starting. However every review I’ve read says that the series improves with the second, third and fourth books. A lot of people seem to be really excited for the fifth book so I’d like to have the first four read by the time it’s released in September.

Throne of Glass

Crown of Midnight

Heir of Fire

Queen of Shadows

After serving out a year of hard labour in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilarating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her…but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead…quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

– Blurb for the first book in the series courtesy of goodreads.com


The Winner’s Trilogy by Marie Rutkoski

The Winner's Trilogy

While this series has also been on my to-read list for a while it hasn’t been there nearly as long as the Throne of Glass books. I have heard a lot of good things about the Winner’s Trilogy, and it’s been recommended to me by quite a few people now; plus the blurb sounds really interesting so I’m excited to start reading the first book. However the last book in the trilogy isn’t released until March so I may have to hold off until then so I don’t have a long wait for the final book.

The Winner’s Curse

The Winner’s Crime

The Winner’s Kiss

Winning what you want may cost you everything you love…

As a general’s daughter in a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers, seventeen-year-old Kestrel has two choices: she can join the military or get married. But Kestrel has other intentions.

One day, she is startled to find a kindred spirit in a young slave up for auction. Arin’s eyes seem to defy everything and everyone. Following her instinct, Kestrel buys him—with unexpected consequences. It’s not long before she has to hide her growing love for Arin.

But he, too, has a secret, and Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for a fellow human is much higher than she ever could have imagined.

Set in a richly imagined new world, The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski is a story of deadly games where everything is at stake, and the gamble is whether you will keep your head or lose your heart.

– Blurb for the first book in the series courtesy of goodreads.com


Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children

Without fail every time I go into a bookstore I see a copy of the first book of this series, and although I’ve never picked it up before the covers have always caught my eye. It has received some mixed reviews but plenty of people have loved it, and after starting my blog last November I finally added this series to my to-read list. The blurb sounds interesting though I’m still not 100% sure what it’s actually about but I’m excited to start reading the series.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Hollow City

Library of Souls

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow – impossible though it seems – they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

– Blurb for the first book in the series courtesy of goodreads.com


Chaos Walking by Patrick Ness

Chaos Walking

I have been meaning to start reading some of Patrick Ness’s work for a while now, and I started in 2015 with The Rest of Us Just Live Here which I did really enjoy. Chaos Walking is the next of Ness’s books I have on my to-read list. Personally I’m not too sure about this series myself but while I haven’t seen many reviews for this book the ones I have all agree it is a brilliant series. Besides I really enjoyed The Rest of Us Just Live Here so I’m sure I’ll love this trilogy as well.

The Knife of Never Letting Go

The Ask and the Answer

Monsters of Men

Prentisstown isn’t like other towns. Everyone can hear everyone else’s thoughts in an overwhelming, never-ending stream of Noise. Just a month away from the birthday that will make him a man, Todd and his dog, Manchee – whose thoughts Todd can hear too, whether he wants to or not – stumble upon an area of complete silence. They find that in a town where privacy is impossible, something terrible has been hidden—a secret so awful that Todd and Manchee must run for their lives.

But how do you escape when your pursuers can hear your every thought?

– Blurb for the first book in the series courtesy of goodreads.com


The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

The Raven Cycle

I tried reading Maggie Stiefvater’s Shiver series but I just couldn’t get into it; I started the first book but it was too slow so I gave up on the series after that. However I honestly do not think I have seen even one bad review for The Raven Cycle. This is a series I’ve noticed quite a bit before but until I started blogging it never quite made it onto my to-read list. It has some brilliant reviews and the blurb sounds interesting so I am excited to start reading the first book. Plus how gorgeous are the covers.

The Raven Boys

The Dream Thieves

Blue Lily, Lily Blue

The Raven King

“There are only two reasons a non-seer would see a spirit on St. Mark’s Eve,” Neeve said. “Either you’re his true love…or you killed him.”

It is freezing in the churchyard, even before the dead arrive.

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them—not until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her.

His name is Gansey, and Blue soon discovers that he is a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He has it all – family money, good looks, devoted friends – but he’s looking for much more than that. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents all the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul who ranges from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher of the four, who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She never thought this would be a problem. But now, as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

From Maggie Stiefvater, the bestselling and acclaimed author of the Shiver trilogy and The Scorpio Races, comes a spellbinding new series where the inevitability of death and the nature of love lead us to a place we’ve never been before.

– Blurb for the first book in the series courtesy of goodreads.com


So does anyone have any suggestions on what series I should start reading first? At the moment I’m leaning towards The Raven Cycle but if you think there are any better series out there that I have to start reading immediately let me know.

8 thoughts on “2016 To-Read List

  1. This is basically my list of all the books I’d like to read, well except for Throne of Glass which I’ve already read. I totally agree that the first book was okay and it wasn’t until Crown of Modnight that I fell in love with it. Great post! 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks 🙂 I’m glad you started liking the Throne of Glass series after the second book, it’s pretty much what I heard from everyone who has read this series. I think the fact that the first one isn’t as good has put me off a little bit from starting this series. The rest seem like they’ll be amazing from the beginning though, do you have plans to read any of them soon?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve read all the books that are currently out and they do get better with every book. I remember reading Crown of Midnight ridiculous quickly because I needed to know what happened. QOS is my favourite so far though.

        If you do pick it up, I hope you like the series as much as I do. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Sarah J. Maas has a lot of praise and it can’t all be undeserved. From the sounds of it I just need to get past the first book before the series really gets better.
        The fifth one comes out in September so I think I’ll have to have read the other four before then. I’m sure I’ll love it just as much 🙂 I just need to get through the first book.

        Like

  2. We have so many of the same books on our to-read list! 🙂 I read the first Throne of Glass book, thought it was okay, and never continued; I also read the first Miss Peregrine’s book but honestly the pictures creeped me out too much, haha. And I’ve heard nothing but amazing things for Chaos Walking and Raven Cycle!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think the main reason I haven’t started Throne of Glass is because like you I don’t think I’d make it past the first book if it wasn’t good, and yeah, I may have to skip the pictures in the Miss Peregrine’s series, I get creeped out a little too easily 🙂
      Are you planning to read The Raven Cycle or Chaos Walking soon then? Both series sound amazing so I cannot wait to start them.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I really hope to start The Raven Cycle soon! (Plus it has absolutely gorgeous covers, especially the most recent book that was released)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

