Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Most Anticipated Releases For The First Half of 2016

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten Most Anticipated Releases For The First Half of 2016.

I have so many books that I cannot wait to get my hands on in 2016 so the only struggle I had with this week’s list was narrowing it down to ten. Most of my top ten this week are next/final books in their series, I tried to pick books that I haven’t already highlighted in previous Top Ten Tuesday posts.


Top Ten Tuesday #5

Waging War by April White
Release Date: 26th January 2016

I feel like I have highlighted this book and the series a lot over recent weeks, but to say I am excited for Waging War to be released feels like a massive understatement. The Immortal Descendants series has some of the best characters and world-building I have ever read in a time travel novel, and I can’t wait to see what is in store for Saira, Archer and Ringo next.


Stars Above by Marissa Meyer
Release Date: 2nd February 2016

I am in complete denial about The Lunar Chronicles, my all-time favourite series, ending so the fact that there is an anthology of novella’s being released means Stars Above went straight to the top of my to-read list. Plus ‘the wedding of the century’, I’d pre-order just for that one short story alone.


Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard
Release Date: 9th February 2016

If Glass Sword is anything like the first book in the series it is going to be un-put-down-able and I cannot wait to get my hands on it. After the way things ended between Mare, Maven and Cal I am interested to see where Victoria Aveyard takes the story and her characters.


Morning Star by Pierce Brown
Release Date: 9th February 2016

The first two books of the Red Rising trilogy more than exceeded my expectations, and after the ending of Golden Son I cannot wait to see where this series goes. However if Morning Star is anywhere near as fast paced and thrilling as Golden Son was I’m not sure I’ll survive reading the last book of the trilogy.


Remembrance by Meg Cabot
Release Date: 14th February 2016

The Mediator books were one of my favourite series when I was in high school, so I was beyond thrilled to discover Meg Cabot is writing another book featuring Suze and Jesse. Reading this is going to be a real throwback to my teenage years.


A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab
Release Date: 23rd February 2016

So far I haven’t read a book by V.E. Schwab that I haven’t loved (though Vicious is still on my to-read list) and A Darker Shade of Magic was the very best of them all. The setting and world building was what really stood out for me and what put the second book in the series at the very top of my to-read list.


Firstlife by Gena Showalter
Release Date: 23rd February 2016

‘Firstlife is merely a dress rehearsal, and real life begins after death’ The blurb for this book caught my attention and ran with it. It sounds like a completely unique idea and I cannot wait to see where Gena Showalter goes with it.


Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare
Release Date: 8th March 2016

I haven’t actually read any of Cassandra Clare’s books since City of Glass; but I love her writing style and her characters so Lady Midnight being released is just what I need to convince me to catch up on the series. The blurb sounds amazing and it seems like a lot of people are just as excited for this new book set in the world of the Shadowhunter’s.


The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead
Release Date: 5th April 2016

While I wasn’t a fan of Soundless I am still looking forwards to the release of The Glittering Court. The blurb sounds interesting and I’m hoping that the fact this is a series rather than a standalone novel means the characters, world building, and plot are better developed.


The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh
Release Date: 3rd May 2016

I really enjoyed reading The Wrath and the Dawn, it was one of my favourite books of 2015, so I am very excited to see where Renee Ahdieh takes the second and last book in the duology; especially after the cliffhanger ending the first book finished on.


So what do you think? Did you take part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, if so let me know what some of your most anticipated releases for the first half of 2016 are.

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Most Anticipated Releases For The First Half of 2016

  1. Vicious is so good; I very highly recommend it! It’s the only Schwab book I’ve gotten to, but that didn’t stop me from putting A Gathering of Shadows on my list too! I’m really excited to read A Darker Shade of Magic so I can get to its sequel! Happy reading! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ll definitely have to get around to Vicious soon, it sounds amazing and I loved every other of V.E. Schwab’s books. I’m sure you’ll love A Darker Shade of Magic, I’d highly recommend it, I thought it was brilliant and I’m so excited for the second book in the series πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Eek, I’m sad to hear that you’re not a fan of Soundless. I haven’t read it yet and I think I’m afraid to because I’ve read so many disappointed reviews, but I’m still… hoping, I guess. πŸ˜›

    But I’m excited for The Rose and The Dagger too! It’s also on my TTT this week.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think Soundless could have been good, the idea behind the story was interesting, but Richelle Mead is stronger when it comes to series than standalones and it was just let down by the actual development of the plot, characters and the setting. I’ve already pre-ordered The Rose and the Dagger, but it still seems like so long away before it’s released, I’m sure it’ll be worth it though.
      Thanks for the link, I’ll definitely check out your TTT πŸ™‚

      Like

    1. I’ll pretty much read anything Marissa Meyer writes from now on, I’m very excited for Stars Above and also Heartless which sounds just as good (maybe even better, I love Alice in Wonderland).
      Thanks, I hope you have a good new year too πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Ooooo I’m excited about The Glittering Court! I think this will be a series, and I think that’s where Richelle Mead’s strengths are at. I’m also looking forward to Lady Midnight…I’ve been waiting for the release for so long! I might read some of the other books you’ve mentioned as well:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I completely agree with you about her writing being better in series. I don’t think Richelle Mead actually wrote a standalone novel before Soundless, I could be wrong about that, but I just think compared to VA and Bloodlines which I loved Soundless fell flat. I really need to catch up on the Shadowhunter books before I even think of starting Lady Midnight but it sounds amazing doesn’t it? I have so many book on my to-read list for 2016, I think these are just a really small fraction of them, but I’d highly recommend any book/series I’ve put in this weeks TTT πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

