If You’ve Read That Book, Try This One

I’ve said it a few times before, 2015 was the year a lot of my favourite series ended; The Lunar Chronicles, The Soul Eaters series, The Elemental Trilogy, Penryn and the End of Days, Starbound, and Splintered to name a few. And while most of them ended on a high note I needed to find new books I could really enjoy, rave about, and re-read over and over again.

So, if you’re like me and your favourite series have come to an end and you’re looking for new books to try out then I’ve got some recommendations for you. Hopefully you’ll soon have some new books added to your favourite shelf.


If you liked the Splintered series…

The Splintered series retells the story of Alice in Wonderland; and while I was left disappointed by the second book in the trilogy, the third and final one, Ensnared, ended the series on a real high note at the beginning of this year.

…Then start reading The Wrath and the Dawn duology

The Wrath and the Dawn

The Wrath and the Dawn is another retelling but this time of the Shahrzad myth. I haven’t read the original story that this book was based on but The Wrath and the Dawn had some good reviews, the blurb intrigued me, and the cover definitely caught my eye. Each night Shahrzad weaves stories of Aladdin and Bluebeard, thieves and genies for her husband, and each morning she lives to see another sunrise where none of her husband’s other wives have.


If you liked the Starbound series…

The Starbound series takes the stories of three couples from across the galaxy with one common enemy and weaves them together. While I love all three books, and really enjoyed the finale of the series, the first one will always be my favourite.

…Then start reading The Illuminae Files

Illuminae

When I discovered one half of the author duo who wrote the Starbound series had a new book out I had to buy it. Illuminae has all the qualities that made Starbound so great but it was the graphics and format of Illuminae that really stood out. It was so unique and beautifully put together that it made reading about Kady’s and Ezra’s journey across the galaxy, fleeing from the Lincoln and BeiTech, that much more enjoyable.


If you like the Penryn and the End of Days series…

As much as I loved the Penryn and the End of Days series I was really disappointed by the last book. Angelfall and World After were some of the best books I’ve ever read but End of Days felt rushed and chaotic; almost like it should have belonged to a completely different series.

…Then start reading The Girl at Midnight series

The Girl at Midnight

While The Girl at Midnight definitely reminded me in places of the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series the story itself is unique and definitely worth reading. Full of magic and legends, war and the beginnings of a star-crossed romance, exotic locations and historical artefacts; the characters are well-written and developed, and the world-building cannot be faulted.

…Then start reading The Arcana Chronicles series

The Arcana Chronicles

I’ll admit the covers are a little uninspiring but the stories themselves are brilliant. A unique take at the dystopian genre Evie finds herself after the end of the world in the middle of a battle that has been long foretold and fought many times before. Inspired by Arcana tarot cards 22 children will fight to the death to be the last one standing.


If you liked the Goddess War series…

I love Greek Mythology so despite not having read any other of Kendare Blake’s other books I immediately picked up the Goddess War books and loved them. Full of Greek Gods but with a dark and creepy aspect to their ending immortality, the whole series was brilliant.

…Then start reading the Red Queen series

Red Queen

Not Greek Mythology but a wonderful book nonetheless. It seems to have really got a lot of recognition over the course of the year and from what I read it is all well-deserved. Mare is caught in the middle of a war. When the Silvers discover she has powers, unknown for a Red like Mare, she must be kept silent. She is made a member of the Silver royal family and thrown into the middle of a deadly situation she has no preparation for.


If you liked The Darkest Minds series…

So yes, the final book of The Darkest Minds series wasn’t actually released this year, but it was only in 2015 that I only got around to reading the whole series. Honestly I have no idea why it took me so long; all three books were brilliant and there is nothing like The Darkest Minds out on the shelves.

…Then start reading The Bone Season series

The Bone Season

Of all the new series I started The Bone Season is one of my absolute favourites now. I am desperate for the third book though I still have quite a long wait ahead of me. Paige is a clairvoyant in a world where just that fact is punishable by death. After being captured and taken to Sheol I she is beaten down but remains determined to escape back to London and her syndicate. The hatred and fear directed at Paige and all clairvoyants is extremely well-written exactly like the fear that surrounded Ruby and the other children in The Darkest Minds.


If you like The Elemental Trilogy

The Elemental Trilogy is in a league of its own in terms of fantasy novels. The series seemed to get better and better with every book, honestly I couldn’t pick one favourite, and while I was sad to see it ending I was happy with how the series was wrapped up.

…Then start reading the A Darker Shade of Magic series

A Darker Shade of Magic

Though only one book has been released so far if the others are anything like the first this series is going to be unforgettable. A world where four different London’s exist side by side; Grey London with no magic and Red London with, White London which is slowly rotting and Black London which was long ago destroyed and forgotten; Kell is one of the few with the ability to travel between the worlds, acting as a messenger between the three surviving London’s.


If you liked the Soul Eater series…

I read the whole series this year and cannot recommend it enough. Meda is a sharp and witty character, definitely my favourite YA heroine I think I’ve ever read, and seeing her development over the course of the trilogy, and that of her relationships with her friends, is probably my favourite part.

…Then start reading the Red Rising series

Red Rising

Red Rising is not a light series, it is dark and brutal in places, and while the first book starts off slow it is well worth it when the action starts. The journey Darrow makes over the course of just the first book is brilliantly written and formed, changing from a Red to a Gold is not something that happens overnight but for Darrow the risk is worth it to bring down the Gold’s tyrannical rule. I have seen this series compared to The Hunger Games a lot but, in my opinion, Red Rising is ten times better.

…Then start reading The Great Library series

The Great Library

Imagine a world where the Great Library of Alexandra was never destroyed, but a world where books are prohibited. Jess comes from a family of book smugglers but books have always been more than just a business for him, so when his father puts him forwards for a position within the libraries service to act as his families spy Jess cannot pass the opportunity by. Full of war and danger mixed with subterfuge, heresy and secrets that could cost Jess his life, Ink and Bone is a brilliant first book to what is sure to be a brilliant series.


If you like The Lunar Chronicles series…

Winter was probably the best book I read of 2015, and the Lunar Chronicles is without a doubt one of the best series I have ever read. Is there anyone out there who hasn’t at least started the first book yet? While I loved all five books, and am eagerly awaiting the release of the anthology early next year, the first book of the series was definitely my favourite.

…Then start reading the Throne of Glass series

Throne of Glass

Picking a series that can compare to the Lunar Chronicles is hard but when I was talking with one of my friends she recommended the Throne of Glass books, which I’ll admit I still haven’t read (I’ve been meaning to since the first book was released, I’ll get around to them next year…probably). A lot of reviews seem to agree that although the first book is not the best, the series gets so much better as it continues. It definitely sounds amazing; assassins, deadly contests, murder, royalty, romance; everything I love in a book.

…Then start reading the Snow like Ashes series

Snow Like Ashes

Snow Like Ashes has the almost fairytale aspect I loved about the Lunar Chronicles, only paired with fantasy elements rather than sci-fi. Meira has been on the run ever since her home kingdom, Winter, was conquered when she was a baby. She has lived her whole life as a refugee but has been training to help take back Winter when the time is right. Meira is an interesting character; tough, strong, and fiercely loyal to her people and the future king, a brilliant heroine.


So let me know what you think. Have you read any of the series I’ve recommended, and if you have what do you think so far? Also if there’s anything you think I missed, or if you just want to share a series that is the best you’ve read this year definitely let me know. I’m always on the lookout for new books to read.

Leave a Reply

