Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Best Books I Read In 2015

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten Best Books I Read In 2015.

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday was definitely the hardest for me. I have read so many amazing books that I have truly loved this year that picking only ten was a real challenge. Some of my favourite series have ended on a real high note, Winter from the Lunar Chronicles, I have started new series which I cannot wait to continue, The Mine Order from the Bone Season series, and I have read some stand-alone novels which exceeded my highest expectations, Rainbow Rowell’s Carry On. Eventually I managed to narrow down my list but it was a close call on some of them.


Top Ten Tuesday #4

Ensnared by A.G. Howard

Alice in Wonderland is my favourite fairytale, my favourite story, my favourite film. So when I discovered a series based on the original tale it went right to the very top of my to-read list. Ensnared is the last book in the Splintered series and after Unhinged left me disappointed I felt Ensnared was a brilliant end to the series.


Shadow Study by Maria V. Snyder

I love Maria V. Snyder’s Study series. The very first book came out ten years ago and I cannot count the amount of times I have read it now, so when I discovered the series was carrying on with Shadow Study I couldn’t wait to get my hands on it. Shadow Study has everything I loved about the original trilogy and more.


Crossed by Eliza Crewe

I discovered and read all three books in the Soul Eaters trilogy this year but Crossed, the last book in the series, was definitely my favourite. Eliza Crewe has provided a fresh look at demons and the people who fight against them, and Meda is a character unlike any I’ve read before; sharp, sarcastic, and self-serving but fiercely loyal to the few people she loves.


The Mime Order by Samantha Shannon

While only two (out of seven) books have been released the Bone Season series has become a new favourite of mine and I cannot wait for the next one to be released. The characters are well-developed, the story is engaging, and it’s even set in London, albeit an alternate version. While the first book set up the world I felt the second book allowed the characters to grow.


The Immortal Heights by Sherry Thomas

Another favourite series of mine that ended this year. The Elemental trilogy is really in a league of its own, no other fantasy books I’ve read before or after can compare. A friend recommended this series to me and I was hooked from the very first page. I loved all three books in the series equally, but The Immortal Heights just beats out the other two.


Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

I fell in love with Leigh Bardugo’s books after reading her Grisha series. She weaves fantasy with dark fairytale elements reminiscent of the Grimm brothers stories. Her world building cannot be faulted. In Six of Crows we go back to the Grisha universe but a whole different country, darker and more dangerous than Rakva, where Kaz and his band of criminals face a world of different problems.


Welcome to Night Vale by Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor

I have been listening to the Welcome to Night Vale podcasts for a while now, so when it was announced a novel was being released I didn’t need to see a blurb, a cover, or even a proper title before I pre-ordered it. The novel is a perfect blend of the insanity that exists in the town of Night Vale with very real problems many people will face at one point or another.


Winter by Marissa Meyer

Is there anyone out there who hasn’t at least started the Lunar Chronicles? When I finally got my hands on the last book in the series it really felt like the end of something big, and as I started reading I didn’t want it to ever end. Winter takes the overall plot that has been building up since the very first book in the series and brings it to a brilliant conclusion. Even though it has ended the Lunar Chronicles is, and will remain, my all-time favourite series. Well, one of them.


Their Fractured Light by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Like the Lunar Chronicles, the Starbound series is another which made me fall in love with the sci-fi genre. The third, and final, book in the trilogy unites all six characters; Lilac, Tarver, Jubilee, and Flynn from the first two books, with Sofia and Gideon. I found myself glued to my Kindle as the plot unfolded, desperate to find out what happened next.


Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Rainbow Rowell has fast become one of my favourite authors. I loved Fangirl but Carry On was so much better. There was a lot of hype surrounding this book, even before it was released people seemed to be raving about it, and reading it for myself I found my expectations exceeded. Carry On was being built up even during Fangirl and it was well worth the wait.


So what do you think? Did you take part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, if so let me know what some of your best books read in 2015 were.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Best Books I Read In 2015

  1. I’m so glad to hear that you loved The Mime Order. I haven’t started the series yet because I wanted to see what other readers think of the books before committing myself to a 7 book series! But I think I’ll have to pick them up now since the first two books seem to be a hit with most readers!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’d definitely recommend the series, seven books does seem like a lot, and for some it’ll be a long wait considering only the first two have been released at the moment but I loved what I read so far, and after all my favourite series ended this year I need some new books to obsess over 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

