Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten 2016 Debut Novels I’m Looking Forwards To

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten 2016 Debut Novels I’m Looking Forwards To.

I admit I cheated a little this week; I couldn’t come up with ten debut novels that I wanted to read in 2016. So instead I came up with the a list of the first books of debut series that I am looking forwards to starting by some of my favourite authors and some new-to-me authors.


Top Ten Tuesday #2

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken
Release Date: 5th January 2016

How amazing does the blurb sound – ‘a perilous journey across centuries and continents’. Passenger sounds like the kind of book I’d love and Alexandra Bracken is a favourite author of mine so all in all a winning combination.


Thief of Lies by Brenda Drake
Release Date: 5th January 2016

‘Jumping into some of the world’s most beautiful libraries’ I wonder if this book has the Great Library of Alexandra in it? Either way it sounds brilliant, though I am a little put off by the possibility of a love triangle.


Unhooked by Lisa Maxwell
Release Date: 2nd February 2016

While I love fairytale retellings the Peter Pan inspired books I’ve read seem to be either hit or miss; I couldn’t get through Tiger Lily but I loved Never Never. Unhooked however seems like it’s been inspired by Peter Pan, a sort of sequel rather than a retelling.


Reign of Shadows by Sophie Jordan
Release Date: 9th February 2016

Another fairytale retelling I can’t wait for. I am a huge fan of fantasy and this book ticks all the right boxes.


Riders by Veronica Rossi
Release Date: 16th February 2016

There aren’t many books I can think of that tell the story of the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse so this is a must-read for me. It doesn’t hurt that Rossi’s first series was a favourite of mine.


The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig
Release Date: 16th February 2016

Time travel is a favourite sub genre of mine and there are so many amazing sounding time travel books being released next year. ‘From modern-day New York City to nineteenth-century Hawaii’ I’m already in love, although my bank account is going to hate me.


The Shadow Queen by C.J. Redwine
Release Date: 23rd February 2016

Another fairytale retelling to go on my to-read list. Even though I haven’t read any of C.J. Redwine’s other works a version of Snow White with a princess using magic to go toe to toe with the evil queen and a huntsman who is really a dragon king is too good to pass by.


Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton
Release Date: 8th March 2016

I discovered this book through NetGalley and now I can’t wait for it to be released. Mythical beasts roaming the desert, sharpshooters running from arranged marriages, djinni and murderous sultans, it like nothing I’ve ever read before.


The Great Hunt by Wendy Higgins
Release Date: 8th March 2016

I clearly cannot resist fairy tale retelling books and although I haven’t heard of or read The Singing Bone this book ‘a dark fantasy filled with rugged hunters, romantic tension, outlawed magic, and a princess willing to risk all to save her people’ certainly sounds interesting.


Tell the Wind and Fire by Sarah Rees Brennan
Release Date: 5th April 2016

Sarah Rees Brennan is one of the authors whose books I will always read. I loved her Lynburn Legacy series and I’ve heard great things about her Demon’s Lexicon books so Tell the Wind and Fire is a must-read.


So what do you think? Did you take part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, if so let me know what some of your most anticipated debut novels for 2016 were.

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten 2016 Debut Novels I’m Looking Forwards To

    1. Rebel of the Sands sounds amazing doesn’t it, it’s definitely one of my most anticipated books for 2016. Same with Riders actually but I loved Veronica Rossi’s first series so I’m sure I’ll enjoy Riders as well.
      I’ll definitely check out your TTT, thanks for the link 😀

      Like

    1. Thanks!
      I had a hard time with this weeks list and most of them aren’t by debut authors but debut series. They’re some of my most anticpated books for next year; Thief of Lies especially.
      I’ll definitely check out your TTT list, thanks for the link.

      Like

Leave a Reply

