Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Quotes I Loved From Books I Read In the Past Year or So

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic for bloggers to choose and list their top ten. This week’s theme is Top Ten Quotes I Loved From Books I Read In the Past Year or So.

It took me a while to come up with my top ten favourite quotes. I have read some amazing books this year, and each one of them had so many quotes which I loved. In the end, although it was hard to choose only ten, I managed to narrow it down.


Top Ten Tuesday #1.png

“You deserve every star in the galaxy laid out at your feet and a thousand diamonds in your hair. You deserve someone who’ll run with you as far and as fast as you want to. Holding your hand, not holding you back. You deserve more than I could ever give you, Kady. But I’ll give you everything I can if you still want me to.”

“I don’t know how you can say that, but I don’t care. I just want it to be true. You’re all I have, but it will be okay if I still have you.”

“You have me. Until the last star in the galaxy dies. You have me.”

– Illuminae, Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff


Propose a theory to explain one of these eternal mysteries: Mona Lisa’s smile, crop circles, or Velveeta.

Here is a theory of love:
you find a sister, you gain
a brother, you lose
a sister, you lose
a brother, you lose a cat,
you find a girl, you kiss
a girl, you find the cat
you hope
that there is nothing left to lose, and
all there is, is there to find

– Bone Gap, Laura Ruby


“You want me.” She turned the words over. Gently, she squeezed his hand. “And how will you have me, Kaz?” He looked at her then, eyes fierce, mouth set. It was the face he wore when he was fighting. “How will you have me?” she repeated. “Fully clothed, gloves on, your head turned away so our lips can never touch?”

He released her hand, his shoulders bunching, his gaze angry and ashamed as he turned his face to the sea.

“I will have you without armour, Kaz Brekker. Or I will not have you at all.”

– Six of Crows, Leigh Bardugo


“I am now willing to write very bad verses for you. Does that not testify to the power of your kisses?”

“How bad?”

“Ecstasy will be forced to rhyme with destiny.”

She laughed and rose to her feet. “That is, I must admit, satisfyingly atrocious. Have it framed before you present it to me.”

He took the hand she offered him and got up also. “Framed. I will have it chiselled in a fifty-ton slab that even you would have trouble moving.”

– The Perilous Sea, Sherry Thomas


“Someone needs to tell those tales. When the battles are fought and won and lost, when the pirates find their treasures and the dragons eat their foes for breakfast with a nice cup of Lapsang souchong, someone needs to tell their bits of overlapping narrative. There’s magic in that. It’s in the listener, and for each and every ear it will be different, and it will affect them in ways they can never predict. From the mundane to the profound. You may tell a tale that takes up residence in someone’s soul, becomes their blood and self and purpose. That tale will move them and drive them and who knows what they might do because of it, because of your words. That is your role, your gift.”

– The Night Circus, Erin Morgenstern


“You can never want too much. That’s how they silence us,” I said. “They told us we were lucky to be in the penal colony instead of the æther. Lucky to be murdered with NiteKind, not the noose. Lucky to be alive, even if we weren’t free. They told us to stop wanting more than what they gave us, because what they gave us was more than we deserved.” I picked up my jacket. “You’re not a prisoner any more, Arcturus.”

– The Mime Order by Samantha Shannon


“You push and you push and you push, Jo! You do whatever you want and don’t give a damn about anyone. I joined the Crusaders for you; I married Armand for you.” I’m in her face, snarling. “You have been my greatest weakness since the day we met,” I shout.

She doesn’t back down. “You’ve been my greatest strength.”

I pull back, slapped by her unabashed love.

– Crossed, Eliza Crewe


“When I was a boy, my mother would tell me that one of the best things in life is the knowledge that your story isn’t over yet. Our story may have come to a close, but your story is still yet to be told. Make it a story worthy of you.”

– The Wrath and the Dawn, Renee Ahdieh


“Aren’t you afraid of dying?” he asked Lila now.

She looked at him as if it were a strange question. And then she shook her head. “Death comes for everyone,” she said simply. “I’m not afraid of dying. But I am afraid of dying here.” She swept her hand over the room, the tavern, the city. “I’d rather die on an adventure than live standing still.”

– A Darker Shade of Magic, V.E. Schwab


“I wanted to tell the book thief many things, about beauty and brutality. But what could I tell her about those things that she didn’t already know? I wanted to explain that I am constantly overestimating and underestimating the human race—that rarely do I ever simply estimate it. I wanted to ask her how the same thing could be so ugly and so glorious, and its words and stories so damning and brilliant.

None of those things, however, came out of my mouth.

All I was able to do was turn to Liesel Meminger and tell her the only truth I truly know. I said it to the book thief and I say it now to you.

I am haunted by humans.”

– The Book Thief by Markus Zusak


So what do you think? Did you take part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, if so let me know what some of your favourite quotes were.

Leave a Reply

